Each year, LMSC awards three scholarship awards to current or former LMSC members who will be attending college during the fall. The awards are open to people who played in the club, served as referees or served as field crew workers.


This award goes to two LMSC people who will be entering their freshman year in college. Each winner receives a $2500 scholarship. The award is given each year by an anonymous donor from within the LMSC family. Winners are determined based on the applications submitted. Applications must be received by May 31 each year. People who will be entering their freshman year of college this coming fall are welcome to submit an application. Please print out an application, fill it out and mail it back to: LMSC, Box 360, Bryn Mawr, PA 19010.

The 2010 Award Winners were Kaitlyn McCaffrey and Julien Aoyama. Kaitlyn played in LMSC for many years and was a star player for the Friends Central varsity, earning first team all league honors in her senior year. Kaitlyn has been very involved with LMSC the past several years helping to coach and run our four and five year old divisions in both the Fall Intramural Program and the Spring Intramural Program. Kaitlyn will be attending Muhlenberg College in the fall.

Julien Aoyama has played travel team soccer for LMSC for the past ten years. He is a member of the Lower Merion Velez Under 18 team. During his many years with Velez, Julien and his teammates have gone to nationals on three separate occassions, taking 3rd at nationals in 2009. Velez won numerous indoor and outdoor state championships while Julien was on the team. Julien was a four year varsity member for Lower Merion High School's boys varsity, helping them win three Central League championships and one District Championship. Julien will be attending Amherst College this fall and will be playing for their Men's Soccer team.

LMSC would like to wish Kaitlyn and Julien the best of luck at college this year. We also would like to thank them for their many years of service to our organization.

The 2009 Award Winners were Danny DiLullo and Jennifer Gangl. Danny was a long time member of the LMSC Hammerheads. While with the Hammerheads, Danny won six state championships and five regional championships. They were also national finalists in 2006. In high school, Danny was runner-up MVP of the Central League at Lower Merion High School and was an All-State selection. Danny also served as a referee and field crew worker for several seasons. Danny will be attending James Madison University in the fall and will be playing on their soccer team.

Jennifer Gangl played for many years with the LMSC Stingrays. In her senior year, Jennifer was co-MVP of the Central League and an All-State selection. Jennifer also helped coach our Under 8 Girls Developmental Academy Program and was a referee for several seasons. Jennifer will be attending West Chester University in the fall and will be a member of their Women's varsity team.

LMSC would also like to thank our anonymous donor for again funding this scholarship and for helping with the education of our LMSC alumni.
2010Julien AoyamaAmherst College
 Kaitlyn McCaffreyMuhlenberg College
2009Jennifer GanglWest Chester University
 Danny DiLulloJames Madison University
2008Tom KalpokasLaSalle University
 Brooke WieczorekUniversity of Pittsburgh
2007Becca GreenbergMcGill University
 Andrew MeiersValley Forge Military College


In 2000, one of our younger soccer players, Rachel Savett, passed away due to anaphylactic shock, caused by very bad food allergies. She had just been selected for one of our LMSC travel teams. Rachelís father, Robert Savett, coached in LMSC for over ten years. To honor the memory of Rachel, LMSC created a scholarship fund in her name.

The scholarship is awarded each year to a former LMSC player, referee or field crew person who will be attending college during the upcoming fall semester. The aware is presented by the LMSC Directors. There is no application process for this award.

The 2010 Award Winner is Katherine Kelly, a long time LMSC travel team player who also served as a referee and coach in the intramural program for our youngest divisions. Katherine will be a senior at University of Rochester this fall, majoring in nursing.

The 2009 Award Winner was Dan Greenberg. Dan played in the club for many years. He also served for many seasons at a referee assignor in the intramural program.
2010Katherine Kelly (University of Rochester)
2009Dan Greenberg (University of Pennsylvania)
2008Allison Zuzelo (Northwestern University)
2007Matt Krantz (Franklin & Marshall University)
2006Dana Worby-Robinson (Shippensburg University)
2005Luke Zeller (Penn State University)
2004Trent Tattar (Temple University)
2003Richard Zeller (University of Delaware)
2002Suzie Grech (University of Michigan)
2001Tagg Boyle (Connecticut College)

Web Page Designed And Maintained By: Biff Sturla